Ford part numbers

“FINIS” is the abbreviation for “Ford International Numeric Identification System”.

1543691

These 7-digits numbers serve as unique “ordering numbers” for car parts. These numbers allow ordering parts from dealers and also to conduct searches in internet.

:!: HINT: When a component is replaced with a newer version, the new version is assigned a new FINIS number. This new version might also be used as a spare part in order vehicles. In this case, the older Ford FINIS will no longer be available. Nevertheless, this does not prevent other dealers from offering these old parts.

“SPN” is the abbreviation for “Spare Part Number”. This part number is composed of “Prefix - Base number - Suffix”:

Prefix - Base number - Suffix
7S7T-19G481-DB

These numbers can be found in stickers or stamped in plastic parts.

Prefix

The prefix always indicates on which vehicle the part is to be used.

The 1st digit indicates the year in which the part was first introduced in the vehicle series (e.g. Mondeo MK4):

Prefix Introduction year
6xxx 2006
7xxx 2007
8xxx 2008
9xxx 2009
Axxx 2010
Bxxx 2011

There are cross-platform parts/assemblies, like radios or FSE modules. Also an excellent example of this is the IB5 transmission from the Fiesta, found in (very few) Mondeos.

Base number

The base number describes the actual part. This base number will always be the same for all vehicle series. This means that the A pillar in a Focus will have the same base number as in a Mondeo. Of course, the part itself will differ.

Suffix

The suffix is normally composed of two characters (e.g. “-AB” or “-BE”)

The first character is normally the feature version or variant. For some components, the range of features increases as the alphabetical order of the character increases. However, this is not always the case. As a rule of thumb, a given letter quantifies a certain range of features for the part. A special case is the feature letter “X”. It usually corresponds to a so called, substitution part. These correspond to the highest feature version that was available, and therefore serve as a generic replacement for all lower functional versions.

The second character indicates the correction version or development level (“Change Level Indicator”). Here, the higher the letter in the alphabet, the more up to date a given part is. For components with embedded software, it signifies the release status.

  • en/artikel/ford_teilenummern/start.txt
  • Last modified: Mon. 01.04.2019 15:42
  • by jphid

Ford Teilenummern

„FINIS“ ist die Abkürzung für „Ford International Numeric Identification System“.

1543691

Diese 7-Stellige Nummer dient als eindeutige „Bestellnummer“ für ein Fahrzeugteil. Mit dieser Nummer sollten Teile beim Händler geordert werden, können aber auch im Netz gesucht werden.

:!: HINWEIS: Wird ein Bauteil durch eine neuere Version ersetzt, bekommt es auch einen eigene neue Finis-Nummer. Nun kann es sein, daß diese neuere Version auch als Ersatzteil in älteren Fahrzeugen zum Einsatz kommt. Dann ist der alte Finis bei Ford nicht mehr bestellbar! Das hält natürlich andere Händler nicht davon ab, ihn trotzdem noch anzubieten.

„SPN“ ist die Abkürzung für „Spare Part Number“. Diese Teilenummer setzt sich aus „Prefix - Basenumber - Suffix“ zusammen:

Prefix-Basenumber-Suffix
7S7T-19G481-DB

Man findet sie auf den Aufklebern und bei Plastikteilen auch gern „eingegossen“ oder geprägt.

Prefix

Das Prefix sagt immer aus um welches Fahrzeug es sich handelt.

Die 1. Stelle ist das Jahr in dem dieses Teil das erste Mal in dieser Baureihe (z.b. Mondeo MK4) eingebaut wurde:

Prefix Entwicklungsjahr
6xxx 2006
7xxx 2007
8xxx 2008
9xxx 2009
Axxx 2010
Bxxx 2011

Es gibt plattformübergreifend verbaute Teile/Baugruppen wie Radios oder FSE-Module. Auch ein toller Vertreter ist das IB5-Getreibe, vom Fiesta bis zum (ganz kleinen) Mondeo zu finden.

Basenumber

Die Basenumber beschreibt das eigentliche Teil. Diese ist Baureihenübergreifend immer gleich. Das heißt eine A-Säule im Focus hat die gleiche Basenumber wie im Mondeo. Selbstverständlich ist das Teil ansich nicht dasselbe.

Suffix

Das Suffix setzt sich für gewöhnlich aus 2 Zeichen zusammen, z.B. „-AB“ oder „-BE“.

Das erste Zeichen ist in der Regel die Funktionsversion oder Variante. Bei einigen Bauteilen nimmt der Funktionsumfang mit steigendem Buchstaben im Alphabet zu. Das muss aber nicht zwingen für alle stimmen. In der Regel beziffert ein Buchstabe einen bestimmten Funktionsumfang des Teils. Ein Sonderfall ist die Funktionsversion „X“. Sie bezeichnet oft sog. Austauschgeräte. Diese entsprechen der höchsten Funktionsversion die verfügbar war und dienen somit alls generischer Ersatz für alle darunterliegenden Funktionsversionen.

Das zweite Zeichen gibt die Korrekturversion oder Entwicklungsstufe an (engl. „Change Level Indicator“). Hier gilt, je höher der Buchstabe im Alphabet, desto aktueller ist das Teil. Bei Bauteilen mit Software drin wird darüber der Releasestand wiedergegeben.

  • artikel/ford_teilenummern/start.txt
  • Zuletzt geändert: Sun. 25.11.2018 11:15
  • von 2a02:8070:d2b0:e800:7d22:c087:d185:3c96